NewsAutomotive Mechatronics & Management

INNOVATIONaward 2020: Two Top Rankings for AMM

This year's Innovation Award 2020 proved again the outstanding potential and skills of the master graduates of FHOÖ´s School of Engineering. Among the award winners were two graduates of the international master´s program Automotive Mechatronics and Management (AMM) in the category "Engineering / Automation & Mechatronics”.

At this year's Innovation Award, diploma and master's theses that solve specific industrial problems with innovative approaches were honored for the 17th time. The prizes were awarded by Economics and Research State Councellor Markus Achleitner, former Federal Minister SC Iris Rauskala, Mayor of Wels Andreas Rabl, Chairman of the FH-Förderverein Günter Rübig and CEO of Sparkasse OÖ Stefanie Huber.

The second place in the award category “Engineering, Automation and Mechatronics” went to Sebastian Huber B.Sc. M.Sc., a graduate of AMM. During his studies, Mr. Huber worked continuously at Wacker Neuson, where he focused on an innovative control concept for a new generation of excavators. This was the base project of his master's thesis, which was now honored at the Innovation Award. Since completing his studies, Mr. Huber has been working successfully for Magna Powertrain as a systems architect.

The third place in the same category went to Tobias Palmer M.Sc.. Mr. Palmer came from Hamburg to study AMM in Wels. The practice integrated study concept appealed to him so much that the passionate motorcyclist decided to join AMM. In this context, he started working for BRP-Rotax at an early stage and wrote his master's thesis for the Advanced Engineering Department, for which he received this award.

“With the innovative solution concepts developed by them, the two AMM graduates prove that our study program with its unique mix of subjects is excellently tailored to the current problems of companies in the automotive industry. Together with all colleagues from AMM, I am very pleased about the success of "our" graduates and congratulate them both very warmly”, Dr. Kurt Gaubinger (AMM head of studies) sums up visibly proud.

Second place for Sebastian Huber B.Sc. M.Sc.

Third place for Tobias Palmer M.Sc.